blue cheese butter.

I know, I know. I don’t have to even describe it. It’s right there. Blue. Cheese. Butter. Did I mention the roasted garlic? No? Well then. Let’s not stand on ceremony.

This is the BEST on top of a hot steak. Allow the butter to melt on said steak. Feel arteries clog. Love life. Also good as the butter in/on potatoes.

Blue Cheese Butter
Adapted from Bon Appetit, 2004

1 stick unsalted butter, softened (or you can increase this depending on how many people you are buttering)
1 hefty chunk of blue cheese, or gorgonzola – maybe about 2 ounces
2 heads of garlic
2 tsp. olive oil
3 tbsp. parsley, optional

Preheat the oven to 350. Cut the tops off the heads of garlic to just expose the cloves. On a piece of tinfoil, drizzle the heads with the olive oil and wrap them up. Bake for about 1-1.5 hours, until the garlic is very soft. Let them cool and then squeeze the soft cloves out from the paper into a bowl. Mash with a fork.

Add the softened butter, blue cheese and optional parsley. Mix thoroughly. Adjust the level of cheesiness according to your taste. I said “wedge” earlier because I love a really cheesy butter here, but its up to you.

Put the butter on plastic wrap and form into a log, refrigerate until firm. Cut into rounds on top of steak.

I keep this butter frozen in my freezer for periods on end. I just had some from 2 months ago, last night. Tasted delicious. Unsure about the food safety of that, so don’t trust my word on that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

