cheddar-scallion-jalapeno drop biscuits

Yum. Can I just say that to start? These are genuinely satisfying. I thought it might be because I have been South Beach dieting the past two weeks (read: no carbs) but upon further investigation, they are just damn good.

Drop biscuits are one of my guiltiest pleasures. I add more butter than I know the recipe requires (such flaky, buttery goodness!) and I eat them quickly. While warm. And fresh. Crime? I think not. The real crime would be to leave them unattended. They are a tasty little date that you can’t say no to.

I was using a variation of this recipe for my strawberry shortcakes. Still am. But, I am moving toward keeping this recipe for biscuits as a savoury one only. Ballsy, true. But aside from the strawberry shortcakes, I can’t imagine them as anything but savoury now.

Although it is summertime and chili won’t be coming out for many a month, the thought of a hot and meaty bowl of chili with these biscuits is making me salivate. Or do as my mate did and spread some jalapeno pepper jelly on them. Or butter.

Brace yourself, friends.

(Must go eat another biscuit.)

Cheddar, Scallion, Jalapeno Drop Biscuits (Makes 6ish depending on your scoop size)

2 c. all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking power
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp. sugar
5 tbsp. cold, unsalted butter, cut into bits (or, as I call it, as much as I want until it looks like I want it to)
1/4 cup diced scallions/green onions
1 c. shredded old cheddar cheese (or whatever cheese you love and adore)
1/2 large jalapeno pepper, minced with seeds (unless you are not a spicy person, then you can either omit or lessen…or add more if you love spice. Basically, choose your poison here)
1 c. buttermilk

Preheat the oven to 450 and put the rack in the middle. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or don’t. You don’t have to, but I find it much easier).

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar in a large bowl. Blend in butter with your fingertips until the mix resembles coarse bread crumbs. I also like to give it a little squeeze to see if it has some moisture to stay together. Stir in the cheese, scallions and jalapeno. Add buttermilk and stir it into a soft, sticky dough. It will be shaggy. Quite.

Drop the dough in mounds about 2 inches apart on your baking sheet and bake until golden, puffed and delicious looking (12-15 minutes). Keep an eye on the bottoms, as they can get dark very quickly between being done and being slightly overdone. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. If you can leave them alone for long.

These are craggy and crunchy on the outside and flaky and buttery and melty cheesy on the inside. A perfect biscuit.

This entry was posted in recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

